Faculty, Administrators and Staff

(Board Policy 405.1)

There are, broadly defined, three categories of employees of the university: faculty, administrators and staff.

Faculty are employees who hold the academic rank of lecturer, master lecturer, assistant instructor, instructor, assistant professor, associate professor, professor, Distinguished Professor, University Professor or one of these titles modified by clinical, research, adjunct, visiting, executive in residence or emeritus, e.g., clinical professor, adjunct assistant professor.

Other titles which have faculty status and academic rank are dean of libraries, librarian, associate librarian, assistant librarian, curator, associate curator, assistant curator, instructional development specialist I and II, and extension specialist I, II, III and IV. Extension specialists hold academic rank only when they are appointed in academic units.

Administrators are employees who hold the titles assistant director, associate director, director, assistant dean, associate dean, dean, assistant vice provost, associate vice provost, vice provost, provost, assistant vice chancellor, associate vice chancellor, vice chancellor, assistant chancellor, associate chancellor, chancellor or one of these titles modified by the term executive. Some administrators also hold faculty rank.

Staff are all employees of the university who are not faculty or administrators.

Tuesday, June 6, 2023 at 1:20 p.m.